History

lemna3a

Oxygenesis GmbH, with registered office at Spierhof in Kalkar, Germany, has been the world leader in the development of aquatic cultivation methods, particularly indoor cultivation methods, and of cultivation devices, specifically for duckweed, since its foundation year in 2007. Arranging the cultivation devices in a stack arrangement allows an enlargement of the ground area such that a multiple of the initially present area will be obtained as an aquatic production area. Nutrients employed in this process may be of mineral origin, but may also originate from separated and hygienised conditioned nutrient streams; they may also be obtained from excess yields from agricultural or food production. A high demand for CO2 is created as a result of the high packing density of the cultivation area in this special greenhouse variety (a so-called photo-bioreactor), so that methods and devices of this type may also be established in an ecologically reasonable manner at sites which produce a high amount of CO2. The heat concept of biogas plants is particularly capable of meeting this high demand for both heat and CO2.

This cultivation method has been successfully patented and covers a comprehensive international IP portfolio. The portfolio of patents and protected varieties, with first dates of application in 2007, has been continuously supplemented and updated in the following years. In addition, many patents have been granted and have already been successfully defended after successful examination by the German Patent Office (DPMA), the European Patent Office (EPO), the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the Chinese Patent Office (SIPO) as well as the Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO) in each case.

Oxygenesis owns a collection of essential varieties of duckweed of various genera. In 2010, Oxygenesis filed applications for protection of the first duckweed varieties which were granted after successful examination. In doing so, Oxygenesis was the first owner of protected duckweed varieties and other aquatic plants worldwide and has been leading this development ever since. The first photo-bioreactor was also established in 2010. Since this time, the photo-bioreactor and the indoor cultivation method have been continuously developed and updated with new patents.

 

 heute1a  heute2a
            Diverse stack systems and methods of construction have been developed and tested.

 heute3a  heute4a

 Diverse stack systems and methods of construction have been developed and tested. Other on-site greenhouses are hosting lagoons for an intermediate storage of living biomass – which is also an idea patented by Oxygenesis.In 2014, Spierhof underwent a further stage of development when a photo-bioreactor having two parts was established, in which stack arrangements for duckweed cultures and other aquatic cultured plants with low-light tolerance were created.

 heute5a

At the same time, a laboratory was established which allows to measure and examine laboratory samples with respect to the cultivation method in-situ. In doing so, various sources of nutrient streams are adapted for an optimum nutrition of the duckweed.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website

2008-heute

lemna3a

Die Oxygenesis GmbH, mit Sitz am Spierhof in Kalkar, ist seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2007 weltweit führend in der Entwicklung von aquatischen, im Wesentlichen Indoor-Kulturverfahren und Kultureinrichtungen für insbesondere Wasserlinsen, bei denen in einer Regalanordnung ein Vielfaches der Grundfläche in aquatische Produktionsfläche umgesetzt wird. Die dabei eingesetzten Nährstoffe können sowohl mineralischer Herkunft sein, als auch aus entsprechend getrennten und vor allem hygienisierten und konditionierten Nährstoffströmen und -überschüssen aus landwirtschaftlicher Produktion oder der Lebensmittelproduktion gebildet werden. Durch die hohe Packungsdichte von Kulturflächen in einem solchen Spezial-Gewächshaus (sogenannter Photobioreaktor) entsteht auch ein hoher Bedarf an CO2, so dass solche Verfahren und Einrichtungen auch an Standorten mit CO2-Anfall ökologisch sinnvoll errichtet werden können. Insbesondere im Wärmekonzept von Biogasanlagen können Wärme- und CO2-Bedarf so gesichert werden.


Dieses Kulturverfahren ist durch ein umfängliches internationales Schutzrechtsportfolio erfolgreich patentiert worden. Das Patent- und Sortenrechtsportfolio, das ab dem Jahr 2007 eingereicht und in den Folgejahren stetig ergänzt und aktualisiert wurde, ist nach jeweils erfolgreicher Prüfung beim Deutschen Patentamt DPMA, dem Europäischen Patentamt EPA, dem Amerikanischen Patentamt USPTO und dem Chinesischen Patentamt SIPO sowie der Europäischen Sortenschutzprüfungs- und -erteilungsbehörde CPVO erteilt und mittlerweile auch schon erfolgreich verteidigt worden.


Oxygenesis verfügt über eine Sammlung wesentlicher Sorten der Wasserlinsen aus verschiedenen Gattungen. In 2010 hat die Oxygenesis hierzu in Folge die ersten Sorten von Wasserlinsen angemeldet und nach erfolgreicher Prüfung erteilt bekommen. Damit war Oxygenesis weltweit der erste Sorteninhaber von Wasserlinsen und anderen aquatischen Pflanzen und ist damit seitdem führend. Seit dieser Zeit wurden der Photobioreaktor sowie die Indoor-Kulturverfahren stetig weiterentwickelt und mit neuen Patenten aktualisiert.


Der erste Photobioreaktor wurde in 2010 errichtet.

 heute1a  heute2a
        Hierbei wurden verschiedenste Etagensysteme und Konstruktionen entwickelt und getestet.

In den übrigen vorhandenen Gewächshäusern wurden Ruhelagunen als lebende Biomassenspeicher angelegt. Auch eine patentierte Oxygenesis Idee.
2014 folgte sodann die weitere Ausbaustufe am Spierhof mit einem zweigeteilten Photobioreaktor, in dem Stapelanordnungen für Wasserlinsen-Kulturen und weitere aquatische Kulturpflanzen mit Schwachlichttoleranz angelegt sind.

 heute3a  heute4a

 

 heute5a

Zeitgleich wurde auch ein Labor errichtet, in dem Laborproben in-situ zum Kulturverfahren gemessen und untersucht werden können. Dabei werden verschiedene Quellen von Nährstoffströmen auf die optimale Ernährung der Wasserlinse angepasst.

 heute6a  heute7a
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Bedienfreundlichkeit zu erhöhen.